2010 Pathfinder MB....

Anything (awards, activities, celebrations, events, ideas) related to the 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America, including the following, limited "2010 Historical" Merit Badge offerings: CARPENTRY, PATHFINDING, SIGNALING and TRACKING.

Moderators: Site Admin, Moderators

2010 Pathfinder MB....

Postby Cowboy » Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:56 am

RWSmith wrote:ADMIN INSERT: Please post your "2010 Historical" Pathfinder MB questions and comments here, in this thread.

Go to "2010 Historical" Merit Badges for program information.

It took my son about 1.5 hours to do the Pathfinding. He had the benefits of having lived here (same house) all of his life (15.5 yrs), small town (1200 pop.), Cit. in Community MB completed, and as a building inspector, I travel all of the roads around. He has gone with and been trained to read plat maps and road maps very well. Other, younger boys, I anticipate about 3-4 hours to complete this MB.

The other ones will take time, and we have to remember, they do have other things to do, like Eagle Required MB's, camp, outings, rank advancement, all of the Celebration activities (Jambo?) Community Service, etc. If these were all that they had to do this year it would be one thing, but they do have a lot of other stuff.
Cowboy
Eagle

Re: "2010 Historical" Merit Badges

Postby ThunderingWind » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:44 pm

Silly me.....here I thought Pathfinding meant map reading, air mobile operations, and leading the way for the rest of the
Army.
No Longer a Registered Scouter
ThunderingWind
Gold Palm

Postby Cowboy » Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:43 pm

Not Army, Troop.
Cowboy
Eagle

Postby ThunderingWind » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:16 pm

There would be some value in having every Scout know how to identify a helo landing zone and how
to guide the pilot in for those back county emergencies. Landing Zone ID panels could be carried as part
of BSA Back Country required gear.