district office headache!

What you need, where to find it, and what you may already have.

Moderators: Site Admin, Moderators

district office headache!

Postby jeffrey » Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:15 pm

I have been trying to become a certified instructor for rappelling. I have been rappelling for 30 years and own my own equipment. My district scout office will not recognize either of my training organizations, yet both meet their requirements.
1. University of South Dakota
2. U.S. Army Special Forces

Can anyone offer me some advice?

I have another assistant scoutmaster that is state certified in High rope rescue. They will not recognize them either.

The office is giving us the impression that, "If we didn't train you, you aren’t trained."
There's no government, like NO government.
jeffrey
Tenderfoot

Postby jr56 » Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:46 pm

Try the Council office. If that won't work, try Regional.
jr56
Bronze Palm

Postby mhjacobson » Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:16 pm

From the Guide to Safe Scouting:

"The climbing instructor has successfully compelted a minimum of 10 hours of instructor training for climbing/repelling from a nationally or regionally recognizsed organization, a climbing school, a college-level climbing/repelling course, or is a qualified BSA climbing instructor."

"The BSA offers a section of National Camping School for climbing directors who in turn can train climbing instructions. Every instructor must have prior experiences in teaching climbing/rapelling to yourh and must agree to adhere to Climb on Safely and the guidlines set in Topping Out."

It is the local council or regional service center who states who is qualified to be an approved BSA climbing instructor under these requirements.
50 year+ scouter -- have held almost all adult leader positions in Cubs, Scouts, & Venturing, currently serving as Council Scouting for Youth with Disabilities Chair.
mhjacobson
Eagle

Postby jeffrey » Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:32 pm