New Councilor.. Help!!!

Camping, Citizenship in the Community, Citizenship in the Nation, Citizenship in the World, Communications, Cycling, Emergency Preparedness, Environmental Science, Family Life, First Aid, Hiking, Lifesaving, Personal Fitness, Personal Management, and Swimming.

Moderators: Site Admin, Moderators

New Councilor.. Help!!!

Postby EagleBoy62204 » Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:40 pm

Im new to the whole merit badge councilor thing. I recently turned 18 back in June and being a scout for most of my life and having a pretty fun time with the badges and all motivated me to become a councilor.

I currently am signed up for G. Arts, Family Life and Collections. The adults in my troop... two of them actually are opposed to me doing family life. This is, because I have not raised a family and have not experienced alot of stuff that the badge implies, when in fact I have been through alot more than any "average" kid goes through.

I really want to stick with family life, but with the adults refusing the boys in the troop to let them take it with me, I am getting pretty angry and about to drop from it all together.

What should I do?
EagleBoy62204
Life

Postby mikekenney1 » Tue Apr 19, 2005 3:22 am

Not to discredit your family experience growing up, but you still have much to learn Grasshopper.

You may have experienced many trials and tribulations, but as a father of two Scouts, there is no substitute for experience as a parent.

The objetive of this merit badge is not to teach the kids how to deal with bad situations, it is to teach them thow to cultivate an enviroment where their family can thrive.

Dispite what you may know, they know more. Let your Elders take this one, and certainly dont' take it personally.
mikekenney1

Postby wagionvigil » Tue Apr 19, 2005 6:41 am

If you are approved by your council as a councilor for a certain MB they really cannot refuse if a boy comes to you.
NER Area 4 COPE/Climbing Chairman
NE Area 4 Venturing Chairman